Frances’s Chocolate Cake

Some days we just need to eat cake! I am all about healthy eating and ensuring we do as much as we can to stay healthy BUT I also believe in taking a balanced approach to all  of life’s pursuits. Life is to be enjoyed right?! In our house we happen to really enjoy eating cake!

This chocolate cake is our all-time favourite. It is super quick and easy and seriously never-fails. It’s a special recipe this one – it has been shared amongst my family having been passed down from my Nanna Frances. Frances was a beautiful lady both inside and out – which is probably why this cake is so damn good. I asked my Mum if it was okay to share this family recipe with you – we both agreed that Frances would think it was pretty darn cool that her recipe was being shared amongst cake-lovers via the internet!

This cake contains dairy, gluten and sugar and I have never attempted to substitute with alternative ingredients – so am not sure how it would go if you did. I use this recipe to make one bar cake or 10-12 cupcakes (depending on size).

To make the cake it is as simple as ….

Melt butter in a saucepan. Place all ingredients, including slightly cooled melted butter, into a bowl and beat for approximately 3 minutes. The mixture should become light and fluffy – almost velvety in appearance.

Place mixture in a greased and lined cake tin and bake in a 180 degree oven for approximately 40 minutes (please remember all ovens bake differently, so if your oven bakes hot it might be best to start checking after 35 minutes). If a skewer comes out clean once inserted in the cake, it is cooked:-)

Let the cake cool and then top with icing. Various icing types work well with this cake:

  • For a special occasion I top with butter cream.
  • For something super quick I simply sprinkle with sieved icing sugar.
  • For a citrus taste I mix orange juice with icing sugar to a paste a spread.

My preference when I am making this cake as an ‘everyday’ treat is to ice it with a simple mix of icing sugar, cocoa and boiling water. You are aiming for a nice thick consistency that is spreadable, but isn’t going to run straight down the sides of the cake. I often find I have to tweak the amounts to get the right consistency.

20170712_142601-01

I often sprinkle coconut over the icing before it sets.

This cake lasts a few days if stored in an airtight container – although it doesn’t usually last that long!

I hope you enjoy Frances’s chocolate cake as much as my family does xxx

 

Frances’s Chocolate Cake

Ingredients:

  • 90 grams butter, melted
  • 1 cup self-raising flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa
  • 2/3 cup sugar (*)
  • 1/2 cup milk

Method: 

  1. Melt butter over lower heat.
  2. Add all ingredients into bowl and beat for approximately 3 minutes on high until mixture is smooth, light and ‘velvety’.
  3. Place cake mix in greased and lined tin and bake in a 180 degree Celsius oven for approximately 40 minutes.
  4. Once cool, ice cake.

*The one change I have made to the original recipe is reducing the sugar from 1 cup to 2/3 cup. I think it is sweet enough with the reduced amount.

Simple chocolate icing

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup icing sugar (approximately)
  • 1.5 tablespoons cocoa
  • 2.5 tablespoons boiling water (approximately)

Method:

  1. Mix all ingredients in bowl until a thick but spreadable consistency is achieved. You may need to tweak the amount of icing sugar and hot water to get the right consistency
  2. Spread over cake. Once icing is set …. serve and enjoy!

Note: This recipe makes approximately 10 – 12 cupcakes (depending on size). They take approximately 15 minutes to bake.

Author: essenceandacupuncture

Hey my name is Clare and I’m an Acupuncturist and Mum. I started this blog because I wanted to share some ideas about health, food, the home, and ‘home-made’ that have worked for my family. I believe in taking a balanced and practical approach to health and life and think there are simple things we can all do to improve our health and well being, and that of our children.

Leave a Reply

